Principes d’Économie Solidaire

Solidarity Economy Principles spelled out as logo in purple serif text

L’économie Solidaire, Qu’est-Ce Que C’est ?

Le domaine de l’économie solidaire fournit un cadre d’organisation aux personnes intéressées à s’engager dans des pratiques d’interdépendance et de libération collective, dans le cadre des activités économiques auxquelles elles ont recours pour répondre à leurs besoins. L’économie solidaire repose sur des valeurs communes : la coopération, démocratie, justice sociale et raciale, durabilité environnementale et l’aide mutuelle. L’interdépendance et le respect sont au cœur de ces valeurs.

Les économies solidaires sont transformatrices et répondent aux besoins matériels immédiats d’une communauté donnée, en redistribuant le pouvoir et les ressources aux personnes qui ont le plus souffert de la suprématie blanche, du colonialisme d’occupation, du patriarcat, du capacitisme et du capitalisme. Au-delà des gestes symbolique, les organisations d’économie sociale agissent directement sur les terrains du logement, de l’alimentation, l’éducation, la culture et des autres secteurs correspondant aux besoins de base des individus. Elles confrontent les pouvoirs systémiques fondés sur l’individualisme, le profit et la propriété privée.

Issues des mouvements sociaux, mouvements sociaux, les économies solidaires se basent sur trois stratégies-clés de changement social : la transformation personnelle, la création d’institutions alternatives et la remise en question des institutions dominantes. L’élaboration de mouvements d’économie solidaire demande de bâtir des réseaux, fédérations et coalitions qui en endossent les principes et pratiques. Voilà comment le mouvement peut réellement gagner en puissance.

Sans mouvement commun, au sein duquel les coopératrices et coopérateurs tissent des liens solidaires, aucun modèles, outils ou activités organisationnelles ne peuvent être considérées comme appartenant à l’économie solidaire.

Circle divided into 5 slices with a circle in the middle that reads Solidarity Economy. At the top is a header that reads Common Solidarity Economy Tools. Each slice has a header and then examples of solidarity economy tools underneath it. Slice 1 reads Creation: Land/wisdom and Knowledge/Language/Culture/Climate. Slice 2 reads Production: community gardens/worker cooperatives/producer cooperatives/collective farms. Slice 3 reads Exchange/Transfer: sliding scale pricing/time banks/barter/alternative currencies/mutual aid/giving. Slide 4 reads Consumption/Use: consumer cooperatives/housing cooperatives/food coops/buying clubs/community land trusts/cooperative energy/CSAs. reads Surplus Allocation: community development credit unions/cooperative loan funds/patronage dividends/susus/composting. The background of the diagram is a starry purple and green and blue sky and there is an hourglass with sifting sands on the right corner.

Sur les territoires de l’Ile de la Tortue, les ressources en économie solidaire comprennent notamment : les coopératives d’épargne et de crédit, coopératives de logement, fiducies foncières communautaires, coopératives de solidarité, groupes d’achat, programmes d’agriculture à soutien communautaire (ASC), coopératives de travail, réseaux de commerce équitable, jardins communautaires, susus, réseaux de troc, banques d’heures, et même certaines monnaies et logiciels libres. Parmi les stratégies de renforcement du mouvement, les coopératrices et coopérateurs font recours à la mise sur pied de chaines d’approvisionnement solidaires, stratégies d’ancrage des institutions, initiatives communes de marchandisation ou certification, etc. Ils, elles et iels organisent du soutien technique entre pairs, des espaces de partage de connaissances, des projets éducatifs, du financement coopératif démocratique, des campagnes de rédaction de politiques, des forums ou assemblées, des pratiques collaboratives d’élaboration de budgets ainsi que des espaces de réflexion visionnaire et stratégique pour le renforcement du mouvement. En combinant ces différents facteurs, on peut travailler à créer de puissants systèmes d’économie solidaire. Il faut toutefois garder en tête qu’il s’agit là d’énumérations sommaires, et que le secteur de l’économie solidaire comporte aussi énormément d’activités qui sont plus informelles ou invisibles aux yeux de l’État. (Si vous pensez à une activité informelle qui pourrait correspondre au mouvement de l’économie solidaire, tentez d’en appliquer les principes pour identifier en quoi elle s’apparente à de l’économie solidaire.) 

APPEL À L’ACTION POUR L’ÉLABORATION DE MOUVEMENTS D’ÉCONOMIE SOLIDAIRE

Réellement incarner les valeurs de l’économie solidaire exige de transformer les liens sociaux, économiques, politiques et institutionnels. Trop souvent, les organisations d’économie solidaire (que ce soient les petites coopératives ou grandes fédérations internationales) reproduisent des valeurs et relations coloniales ou capitalistes. La partie la plus difficile de notre travail est peut-être de savoir départager le réalisme de l’utopie, et faire des compromis pour le bienêtre des communautés dès aujourd’hui, jusqu’à leur éventuelle libération. Les principes et pratiques de l’économie sociale exigent aussi de nommer et d’honorer ces tensions, tandis qu’on s’applique à les incarner collectivement dans une perspective décoloniale et anticapitaliste. Ce sont là les fondements d’une économie solidaire réellement libératrice pour toutes et tous.

L’élaboration de capacités d’autogestion et de mouvements d’économie solidaire locaux fait partie des besoins les plus urgents de notre époque. Alors que le capitalisme, le colonialisme et la suprématie blanche poussent les humain·e·s et de nombreuses autres espèces à l’extinction, l’économie solidaire propose d’extraordinaires avenues la transformation des relations des personnes à elles-mêmes, aux autres et à la terre. À l’heure qu’il est, l’état du monde nous exige de changer de trajectoire, et nous pouvons y arriver. Pour y parvenir, il faut s’engager dans un travail collectif de transformation des liens interorganisationnels, dans la perspective de nourrir des notions communes pour mieux faire mouvement.

S’il est vrai que de nombreuses activités sont associées à l’économie sociale ou coopérative pour leur capacité à remplir des objectifs de grande portée, certains de ces « modèles fétiches » opèrent souvent en toute déconnexion avec le contexte et les objectifs initiaux du mouvement d’où ils proviennent.Il faut reconnaitre que les modèles d’économie sociale varient énormément selon les membres de l’équipe, les personnes responsables de définir et d’administrer le projet, le niveau démocratique des processus décisionnels, les pratiques de responsabilisation, et l’implication des membres dans un réseau ou mouvement d’économie solidaire élargi. 

En innovant, on peut nourrir un mouvement fidèle aux valeurs de l’économie solidaire, qui tient compte du niveau de rigueur et de discipline nécessaires à l’éclosion de nouvelles possibilités. Pour y parvenir, il faut autant remettre en question et renforcer les principes existants en vigueur dans le monde coopératif. Ce faisant, il faut s’assurer que les économies interdépendantes en élaboration correspondent aux valeurs de l’économie solidaire à tous les niveaux. Comme nous l’enseigne adrienne maree brown :

Starry background in purple and green with text that reads A fractal is a never-ending pattern. Fractals are infinitely complex patterns that are self-similar across different scales. They are created by repeating a simple process over and over in an ongoing feedback loop. How we are at the small scale is how we are at the large scale. The patterns of the universe repeat at scale. There is a structural echo that suggests two things: one, that there are shapes and patterns fundamental to our universe, and two, that what we practice at a small scale can reverberate to the largest scale… Grace Lee Boggs articulated it in what might be the most-used quote of my life: “Transform yourself to transform the world.” This doesn’t mean to get lost in the self, but rather to see our own lives and work and relationships as a front line, a first place we can practice justice, liberation, and alignment with each other and the Planet. […]” — adrienne maree brown, Emergent Strategy

ÉCONOMIE SOCIALE VS ÉCONOMIE SOLIDAIRE

Le terme « économie solidaire » est arrivé aux États-Unis principalement par le biais du Forum Social Mondial tenu au Brésil. Partout en Amérique latine, les pratiques d’économie solidaire sont profondément ancrées dans les héritages autochtones. Qu’elle soit nommée ainsi ou autrement, l’économie solidaire existe dans les communautés depuis des millénaires. C’est avec humilité que nous nous engageons à restaurer et faire valoir ces pratiques, tout en refusant d’embellir le passé ou de fétichiser les communautés. Quelles que soient ses traditions et communautés d’appartenance, s’investir dans les principes et pratiques de l’économie solidaire signifie de participer à un mouvement social mondial pour la protection de l’avenir de la vie terrestre.

L’économie solidaire se distingue de l’économie sociale, qui, selon Michelle Williams, comprend les organisations à but non lucratif, coopératives et entreprises sociales qui « visent un changement social progressif et limité à l’intérieur des critères de l’ordre social dominant, notamment par l’adoucissement des effets des crises économiques, du chômage et de la pauvreté. » L’économie solidaire porte plutôt une « vision sociale transformatrice basée sur l’autogestion démocratique, la redistribution des richesses, la solidarité et la réciprocité ». Pour en savoir plus sur cette distinction, voir l’essai de Michelle dans l’anthologie  The Solidarity Economy and Social Transformation

Si votre projet correspond potentiellement au mouvement de l’économie solidaire, voyez comment ces principes s’appliquent à vos activités. Si vous pensez plutôt être impliqué·e dans un projet d’économie sociale, mais que vous aimeriez faire une transition vers l’économie solidaire, consultez les outils disponibles sur la page Engagements. 

Ailleurs dans le monde, incluant au sein d’organisations internationales partenaires de ce projet (tels que RIPESS ou l’Organisation internationale du travail) on emploie le terme « économie sociale et solidaire » (ESS) ; certaines personnes ne font pas de distinction entre les deux termes. Dans le contexte étatsunien et canadien, il s’agit toutefois d’une distinction incroyablement importante, puisque les mouvements d’économie solidaire sont vulnérables à la récupération par l’élite, le complexe industriel non lucratif et les modèles néolibéraux d’entrepreneuriat social. Il ne s’agit bien sûr pas de diminuer ni d’attaquer les définitions internationales en vigueur dans les institutions comme RIPESS ou les Nations Unies, mais bien d’apporter une précision nécessaire à l’élaboration d’un mouvement d’économie solidaire dans notre contexte local. Comme le disait Ethan Miller, notre rôle est de :

... reconnaitre et honorer la responsabilité de s’approprier les concepts de l’économie solidaire pour en tirer ses propres notions. Il s’agit d’un processus ouvert, d’une invitation. Les concepts d’économie solidaire ne se restreignent pas à une seule tradition politique. Sa nature et ses définitions mêmes sont en perpétuel développement, appelées à se transformer au fil des échanges et des débats entre les diverses parties prenantes. Aspirant à faire son chemin un pas à la fois, l’économie solidaire ne s’efforce pas de correspondre à une idéologie fixe. Elle se constitue plutôt de mouvement à mouvement, cherchant continuellement à renouveler les liens et les possibilités qui pourront renforcer ses principes et valeurs.

Ethan Miller, SE: Key Concepts and Issues 

French

Solidarity economy (SE) is an organizing framework for those who wish to create a systemic commitment to and practice of interdependence and collective liberation in the economic activities that meet our material needs.  Solidarity economy rests on our shared values: cooperation, democracy, social and racial justice, environmental sustainability, and mutualism. Interdependence and respect are central.

Solidarity economies are transformative — they redistribute power and resources to those who have been most harmed by white supremacy, settler colonialism, patriarchy, ableism, and capitalism — and meet an immediate material need for a community. They are not symbolic, but actually delivering the housing, food, education, culture, and other needs humans require to thrive. They challenge the power of systems based on individualism, profit, and private property.

Solidarity economies emerge from movements and integrate the three common strategies for social change: personal transformation, building alternative institutions, and challenging dominant institutions. Building solidarity economy movements requires building networks, federations, and coalitions that align with SE principles and practices. This is where we become truly powerful.

None of these models, tools, or activities on their own constitutes a ‘solidarity economy.’ That only develops when we work together as a movement, when SE organizers and communities build relationships and work in alignment with each other.

Circle divided into 5 slices with a circle in the middle that reads Solidarity Economy. At the top is a header that reads Common Solidarity Economy Tools. Each slice has a header and then examples of solidarity economy tools underneath it. Slice 1 reads Creation: Land/wisdom and Knowledge/Language/Culture/Climate. Slice 2 reads Production: community gardens/worker cooperatives/producer cooperatives/collective farms. Slice 3 reads Exchange/Transfer: sliding scale pricing/time banks/barter/alternative currencies/mutual aid/giving. Slide 4 reads Consumption/Use: consumer cooperatives/housing cooperatives/food coops/buying clubs/community land trusts/cooperative energy/CSAs. reads Surplus Allocation: community development credit unions/cooperative loan funds/patronage dividends/susus/composting. The background of the diagram is a starry purple and green and blue sky and there is an hourglass with sifting sands on the right corner.

Common solidarity economy tools on Turtle Island often include: Low-income credit unions, housing cooperatives, community land trusts, food and consumer cooperatives, community supported agriculture (CSA) programs, worker and producer cooperatives, fair trade networks, community gardens, susus, buying clubs, barter networks, timebanks, and even complementary currencies and open source software. Movement-building strategies and practices used by SE organizers include solidarity supply chain creation, anchor institution strategies, joint marketing or certification initiatives, peer-to-peer technical assistance and knowledge sharing, educational projects, democratic and cooperative financing, policy campaigns, and forums, assemblies, and participatory budgeting spaces to build vision and strategy together for SE development. Many of these elements working together can create powerful solidarity economy systems. These are partial lists, and there are plenty of activities that are more informal or invisible to the state. (If you think an informal activity might be part of solidarity economy movements, try applying the principles to that activity to explore why. ) 

A CALL TO BUILD SOLIDARITY ECONOMY MOVEMENTS

Truly embodying SE values means transforming our social, economic, and political relationships and institutions. Too often we see our organizations — from individual co-ops on up to international federations — replicate colonial and capitalist relationships and values. Perhaps the hardest part of our work is maintaining the balance between what’s realistic vs. what’s too idealistic and where we must compromise to keep our communities alive in the present even as we build towards a future liberation. Naming and honoring that tension, stretching ourselves to embody SE values, and acting collectively in decolonial and anti-capitalist formations, are central to the practices and principles offered here. These are the seeds of solidarity economies and greater freedom for all of us.

We believe that developing our capacity to self-govern and develop place-based SE movements is amongst the most urgent matters of our time. Capitalism, white supremacy and colonization are driving humans and many other species to extinction, and SE provides extraordinary opportunities to fundamentally change our relationships to ourselves, each other, and the land. We cannot afford to replicate business as usual at this time in history, and we don’t need to if we work together as a collective to change our relationships to one another’s organizations and focus on the task of building alignment and movement.

While many SE organizing activities are frequently described as solidarity economy or cooperative models for achieving “scale”, these “models” are often fetishized and divorced from their movement context and movement building goals. It is important to recognize that these models operate very differently depending on who is involved, who gets to define and control the initiative, whether decision-making is democratic and accountable, and whether they are embedded in and accountable to a broader SE network or movement. 

SE innovation supports building a movement that is true to SE values and embraces the need for rigor and discipline to foster new possibilities. This is what we hope to do by wrestling with and building on existing organizing principles for cooperatives and for SE. We need to ensure that the interdependent economies that we’re visioning and creating are embodying SE values at any and every scale, as adrienne maree brown taught us in the following quote:

Starry background in purple and green with text that reads A fractal is a never-ending pattern. Fractals are infinitely complex patterns that are self-similar across different scales. They are created by repeating a simple process over and over in an ongoing feedback loop. How we are at the small scale is how we are at the large scale. The patterns of the universe repeat at scale. There is a structural echo that suggests two things: one, that there are shapes and patterns fundamental to our universe, and two, that what we practice at a small scale can reverberate to the largest scale… Grace Lee Boggs articulated it in what might be the most-used quote of my life: “Transform yourself to transform the world.” This doesn’t mean to get lost in the self, but rather to see our own lives and work and relationships as a front line, a first place we can practice justice, liberation, and alignment with each other and the Planet. […]” — adrienne maree brown, Emergent Strategy

A NOTE ON SOCIAL VS. SOLIDARITY ECONOMY

As a term, Solidarity Economy came to the US primarily through the World Social Forum in Brazil, and throughout Latin America its practices are rooted in Indigenous ways of being and co-operative principles. There are many ways that solidarity economies, in practice but under other names, have existed for thousands of years in our communities. It is with humility that we step into both restoring or affirming those ways of being while also not romanticizing the past or fetishizing communities. Whatever traditions are present in our communities, linking them to solidarity economy principles and practices means participating in a global social movement intended to protect future life.

SE is distinct from the social economy, which according to Michelle Williams includes  nonprofits, co-ops, and social enterprises that, seek to achieve limited, progressive change within the confines of the current social order by ameliorating the effects of market failure, unemployment and poverty.” Solidarity economy is a “transformative vision of society based on democratic self-management, redistribution, solidarity and reciprocity.” For more on this distinction see Michelle’s essay in the anthology  The Solidarity Economy and Social Transformation

If you think your project could be part of solidarity economy movements, try applying the principles to that activity to explore why. If you feel you are in a social economy project but you’d like to see it move towards solidarity economy, check out the tools on the Commitments page. 

In many places around the world, including within international organizations connected to this work (such as RIPESS or even the International Labour Organisation), you might hear the term Social and Solidarity Economy (SSE) and people may not make any distinction between them. In the context of the US and Canada, this distinction is incredibly important, because solidarity economy movements are vulnerable to elite capture through the nonprofit industrial complex and neoliberal social enterprise models. This is not meant to dilute or make any claims on the international definitions in use by bodies like RIPESS or the United Nations, but instead to support the precision needed to navigate solidarity economy movement building in our place-based context. We agree with Ethan Miller that our role is:

“…to recognize and honor the responsibility that we have to forge our own ideas about SE. SE is an open process, an invitation. The concept does not arise from a single political tradition or body of ideas. Its very nature and definition are in continual development, discussed and debated among its advocates. Seeking to “make the road by walking” rather than to push a closed or finalized ideology, SE is a “movement of movements” continually seeking connections and possibilities while holding on to the transformative commitment of shared values.”

Ethan Miller, SE: Key Concepts and Issues